Mets’ Karma Connections – Part 1

Building a team, building a dream doesn’t happen in a flash, overnight, or on a straight line.

What are the Mets’ karma indicators this season? Are they related? Should fans have hope?

Wisdom and good decision-making on any subject may be based on two key factors: critical thinking ability and depth/breadth of experience.  The same applies to what folks call karma, blessings, the hand of God. When I combine those elements, applied to the metaphysical realm,  I come up with a firm ‘yes, have hope.’ Here’s what I’ve seen…part 1.

Last November, a house fire in my town put a die-hard Mets fan – just like you – out of his home.  A local gal assembled  gifts  from the community to shower joy and cheer on our neighbor, Jim,  as a dreary winter began. She reached out to me to see if I could work some Mets front office magic for him. In a small town, everyone knows each other, at least by reputation.

Mets GiftWithin 24 hours, I had a terrific package of four tickets, batting practice and refreshments as a generous gift from the Mets organization. The winter began to warm up.  When baseball season started, Jim was to contact the team to arrange a date to attend. ‘Let me know how it goes, ‘  I said to Jim.

Months later, sitting at my desk on May 2, the phone rang at about 6 pm. It was Jim. ‘I wanted to let you know I went to see the Mets today, ‘ he said. There was something special in his voice. Was it a mature man’s emotion? Was it disappointment? My heart constricted. ‘Did you hear what happened?’ he asked.

Being a New Yorker,  I expected the worst…a bombing, a murder, a fight in the stands.  I put on a cheery voice. “JIM! Good to hear from you. No, what happened?’ I asked.  ‘Syndergaard threw a shutout and homered for a one-nothing win. The Mets seated me right behind first base.’  https://nyti.ms/2PHJvIt

Many folks worked to lift Jim up toward that day, which happened to be the National Day of Prayer. Goodwill seemed to be catching…contagious…karmic.  What do you call it? Where do these patterns fit into your realm of experience? When you’re looking up at  tomorrow’s fireworks, or at the summer sky this weekend, think about it. It is part of what we need to get to the post-season.

Happy Independence Day, birthday of the home of baseball.

To be continued next week.

Keep your hands together, fingers crossed, and send your thoughts, prayers, wishes and incantations to Pray4Mets@gmail.com.  Let’s Go Mets!

Maureen Edelson, Creator  Pray4Mets

Montclair, New Jersey  USA

Leave a comment